8.4 C
New York
Monday, December 4, 2023

United Nations: India and Afghanistan are the only two Asia-Pacific states to become the member of United Nations’ Commission on Status of Women. Click here to know everything

Must read

Today is a big day for the entire nation of India as the country has successfully won the election against China. Our mother land has earned the seat and became the member of the United Nations’ Commission on Status of Women (UNCSW) for upcoming four years.

India was eagerly waiting since long to get its way into the most prestigious United Nation agencies. After so long the country has chosen as the member of United Nations’ Commission on Status of Women (UNCSW). This is such a grand news for the entire nation as it is the second country from the Asia Pacific states to win by this huge number.

Secondly, the win for India has become more important and vital as the silver jubilee of the Beijing Conference is also going to be celebrated this year. Means it is the 25th anniversary of the famous Beijing World Conference on Women started in the year 1995.

 UNCSW: India became the member

India has been a member of many United Nation organs. Recently on 18th June 2020 India elected as one of the non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) with more then required votes. Out of 192 seats, India earned 184 beating the other participated countries.

TS Tirumurti is the permanent representative of India in the UN. He shared this good news through his official Twitter handle. According to his words, India has maintained its trend and secured the huge number of votes in the United Nations’ Commission on Status of Women. And with this it elected as the member of UNCSW, a body of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

UNCSW: India beats China

Only two countries that is India and Afghanistan from the Asia Pacific states have been elected as the member. Our nation has made everyone proud by securing 38 out of 54 ballots. While our neighbor land, Afghanistan received 39 ballots.

China which was also contesting for the membership did not earn even half the votes and secured only 27 ballots. With this, the elected countries will work to enhance the women’s empowerment in all sector. Moreover, it will also promote the gender equality so that everyone irrespective of any gender can move freely.

India will be a member of this UNCSW for the upcoming four years that is from 2021 up to 2025. India along with the other members will work together in protecting the women’s rights. Along with they will uphold the current situation of the women across the world.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article