14.9 C
New York
Saturday, September 23, 2023

Ig Nobel Prize: PM Narendra Modi along with other eight countries receive the honorable award for their contribution in various field. Click here to know more

Must read

Our Honorable Prime Minister Narendra Modi who recently turned 70 awarded with the “Ig Nobel Prize”. He is not alone to receive this prestigious award as he has been accompanied with many other country’s head. Ig Nobel Prize first started in the year 1991 and since then many other Indian personalities awarded with this prize.

According to the sources, every year the magazine named “Annals of Improbable Research” organize this grand award ceremony event. But for the first time, due to this Covid-19 pandemic situation, everything  held online.

A chemistry teacher in Chennai, Sangeeta Balakrishnan explained about this “Ig Nobel Prize”. According to her words, this annual prize ceremony held in the Sanders Theatre at Harvard University. The winners are chosen on the basis of their work and contribution in the field of science, medicine, academics and the like. The awardees have exact sixty seconds time for their acceptance speech. But this time, everything is restricted due to the global pandemic issue.

Ig Nobel Prize: Previous Indian recipients

Narendra Modi has honorably awarded with the Ig Nobel Prize along with the heads of Brazil, Mexico, UK, US, Belarus, Turkey, Russia and Turkmenistan. This is not the first time that any Indian has received this. Earlier, in the year 1998, then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee won the award for his contribution in the “aggressively peaceful” detonation of a nuclear weapon.

The list does not end here as some India laureates earned the prize for the remarkable work in public health. Both Chittaranjan Andrade and B.S. Srihari did their research only to find out that the adolescents often pick their noses. Others include K.P Sreekumar and G. Nirmalan discovered the surface area of elephants.

Ig Nobel Prize awarded to only those unique talents whose findings are though humorous but are interesting. The main aim of this prize is to honor achievements that first make people laugh and then make them think.

Ig Nobel Prize: Modi won for “medical education”

Narendra Modi is the second Prime Minister after Atal Bihari Vajpayee to receive the honor. Modi awarded for his medical contribution during the time of coronavirus disease.

The “Medical Education” prize given for his dedication during this pandemic time. He taught the nation that the politicians too have the risk of life and death along with the doctors and scientists.

Ig Nobel Prize: India and Pakistan receive the “Peace Prize”

The most interesting award won by the two rivals yet neighboring countries of India and Pakistan. The governments of these nations also awarded the Peace Prize for the 2018 “doorbell” ringing issue.


More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article